# Municipality of Lakeshore – Report to Council

# Legal and Legislative Services



# **Legislative Services**

To: Mayor & Members of Council

From: Brianna Coughlin, Division Leader – Legislative Services

**Date:** January 22, 2024

Subject: Appointments to Executive Committee

### Recommendation

Appoint Mayor Bailey and Councillor \_\_\_\_\_\_ to the Executive Committee, as presented at the January 30, 2024 Council meeting.

## Background

On December 12, 2023, Council approved the creation of an Executive Committee, an internal advisory committee with the purpose of reviewing human resources related matters that require Council approval, and to provide advice and recommendations to Administration on these matters. The matters will eventually move forward to a report to Council for consideration.

Council adopted the Terms of Reference for the Executive Committee on January 9, 2024 through By-law 6-2024.

### Comments

In accordance with the Terms of Reference, the Executive Committee membership shall consist of the Mayor and one other member of Council, as well as the Chief Administrative Officer and Division Leader - Workforce Development. The Deputy Mayor shall attend meetings if the Mayor is unable to attend.

In order to appoint the remaining member of Council for the committee, a member must be nominated and a resolution passed by Council. Should there be more than one member nominated, the Clerk will conduct an election with private ballots and the results will be read in open session. The nominated member with the most votes will be appointed to the committee.

### **Financial Impacts**

There are no financial impacts as a result of the appointments to the Executive Committee. The approved Terms of Reference for this Committee do not include remuneration. Meetings shall be conducted during regular business hours.

## **Report Approval Details**

Document Title:	Appointments to Executive Committee.docx
Attachments:	
Final Approval Date:	Jan 22, 2024

This report and all of its attachments were approved and signed as outlined below:

Prepared by Brianna Coughlin

Submitted by Susan Hirota

Approved by Justin Rousseau and Truper McBride