## **Caldwell First Nation**



14 Orange Street, Leamington, Ontario, N8H 1P5 Phone: **519-322-1766** Fax: **519-322-1533** 

Sent by email to: tbailey@lakeshore.ca

February 9, 2023.

Mayor Tracey Bailey Municipality of Lakeshore Lakeshore Town Hall 419 Notre Dame St. Belle River, Ontario NOR 1A0

## Re: IESO Expedited Procurement Process – Municipal Support Resolutions

On behalf of Caldwell First Nation, I want to thank you Mayor Bailey and staff of the Municipality of Lakeshore for meeting with me, my staff and staff of the Three Fires Group on two occasions this week. We appreciate the time and effort your staff put into developing criteria to assess the numerous battery energy storage system proposed projects and sites in the Municipality. Thank you again for taking the time to review the results of that assessment with us, to inform Caldwell First Nation and the Chippewas of Kettle and Stony Point First Nation.

We are encouraged that staff of the Municipality of Lakeshore are supporting almost 900 megawatts of necessary and strategically located battery energy storage systems to receive municipal support resolutions. These systems will provide much needed energy and economic benefits to our First Nations, municipalities across the region, business and industry, and the people of Ontario.

I support the independent and objective decisions the Municipality of Lakeshore puts forward with respect to the Independent Electricity System Operator's (IESO) procurement process. The many months of the IESO procurement process has been burdensome on our collective staff resources as we try to apply basic multi-generational planning considerations, including environment, cultural heritage, land use, and "good neighbour" criteria to understand the potential impacts and benefits of these proposed projects. Under your guidance, municipal staff have worked diligently to assist your constituents.

The time you and your staff spent sharing your considerations with us has been valuable to us. We look forward to many future opportunities to work closely and cooperatively with the Municipality of Lakeshore for generations to come. In the near term we look forward to planning collaboration for at least two more IESO procurement processes, major transmission line planning processes, clean energy initiatives, local energy distribution planning, and industrial land use planning to help carefully orient exciting new economic development opportunities.

In the true spirit of reconciliation, First Nations in the Three Fires Confederacy treaty area of southwestern Ontario will look back on this moment as the beginning of an historic partnership between municipal staff and leaders and First Nation staff and leaders. Thank you for your leadership!

Sincerely,

Chief Mary Duckworth

cc:

Chief Kim Bressette, Chippewas of Kettle and Stony Point First

Nation: kim.bressette@kettlepoint.org

Truper McBride, Chief Administrative Officer, Municipality of Lakeshore:

tmcbride@lakeshore.ca

Independent Electricity System Operator: <a href="mailto:engagement@ieso.ca">engagement@ieso.ca</a>

Minister Todd Smith: MinisterEnergy@ontario.ca

David Donovan, Chief of Staff, Office of the Honourable Todd Smith:

David.Donovan@ontario.ca

Premier Doug Ford: <a href="mailto:Premier@ontario.ca">Premier@ontario.ca</a>, <a href="mailto:Doug.fordco@pc.ola.org">Doug.fordco@pc.ola.org</a>

Patrick Sackville, Chief of Staff: Patrick.Sackville@pc.ola.org

Minister David Piccini: david.piccini@pc.ola.org

Minister Greg Rickford: Greg.Rickford@ontario.ca; Greg.Rickford@pc.ola.org

Minister Kingma Surma: Kinga.Surma@pc.ola.org

Minister Vic Fedelli, vic.fedelico@pc.ola.org

Emily Vassos. Chief of Staff - Minister of Northern Development and Minister of Indigenous

Affairs: emily@ontario.ca; Emily.vassos@pc.ola.org

Councillor Ian Duckworth: <a href="mailto:councillor.ian@caldwellfirstnation.ca">councillor.ian@caldwellfirstnation.ca</a>

Councillor Doug Heil: <a href="mailto:councillor.doug@caldwellfirstnation.ca">councillor.doug@caldwellfirstnation.ca</a>

Councillor Larry Johnson: <a href="mailto:councillor.larry@caldwellfirstnation.ca">councillor.larry@caldwellfirstnation.ca</a>

Councillor Nikki van Oirschot: councillor.nikki@caldwellfirstnation.ca

Larry Sault, Caldwell First Nation Intergovernmental Advisor: soongikiniw@gmail.com

Allen Deleary, CAO, Caldwell First Nation: <a href="mailto:cao@caldwellfirstnation.ca">cao@caldwellfirstnation.ca</a>

Don Richardson: <a href="mailto:Don.Richardson@threefires.com">Don.Richardson@threefires.com</a>

Philip Lee: <a href="mailto:Philip.Lee@threefires.com">Philip Lee: Philip.Lee@threefires.com</a>

Natalya Garrod: Natalya.Garrod@threefires.com